Colorado data center moratoriums
As of 31 Oct 2026, we count at least 27 local data center pauses in force in Colorado, 2 bans and 5 proposals, across its counties and cities. At state level: checked, nothing found.
- 27 pauses in force · 2 bans · 5 proposed
- 1 pauses end within 60 days
- Checked: 64 counties, 211 cities · 34 on tracker
Cite this page
Source: Grounded Compute, Colorado moratorium tracker, 31 Oct 2026. https://groundedcompute.com/us/colorado/moratoriums
Every row below has its source and the date we checked it. For reporters: contact and corrections
State level · Checked, nothing found
We asked about state laws, orders and bills: checked, nothing found (31 Oct 2026).
Expiring by 30 Dec 2026
- 15 Dec 2026Archuleta CountyPausepagosasun.comNews reported
Moratorium map · counties
- Ban: 0 counties
- Pause (active or extended): 12 counties
- Pause proposed: 2 counties
- End date passed, no update found: 0 counties
- Ended, expired or none found: 40 counties
- No government or news source found: 10 counties
- City: ban
- City: pause
- City: pause proposed
- 64 counties checked · 31 Oct 2026
- Cities on the tracker drawn as dots (20)
- Schematic; outlines: US Census
Tracker · 34 bans, pauses and proposals
- Rows grouped under their count; each count matches the figures at the top
- 13 government confirmed · 21 news reported
- Ended pauses and no-pause checks: on the map only. We checked counties and cities; nothing found is not proof that none exists
- Method
| Jurisdiction | Status | Covers | End | Permanent rules | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bans (2) | |||||
| Aurora (city, Adams) | Ban | Some zoning districts | – | Rules adopted | coloradopolitics.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Longmont (city, Boulder) | Ban | Above a size threshold: Hyperscale facilities with projected or contracted peak electrical demand of 100 MW or more | – | Rules adopted | longmontcolorado.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Pauses in force (27) | |||||
| Archuleta County | Pause | All data centers | 15 Dec 2026 | – | pagosasun.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Arvada (city, Jefferson) | Pause | Above a size threshold: Primary-use data centers with projected load requirements of 10 MW or more; the ordinance has exceptions for certain accessory facilities under 10 MW. | – | – | arvadaco.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Berthoud (city, Larimer) | Pause | Above a size threshold: Large data centers; no numerical threshold stated in the source | 22 Sep 2027 | – | longmontleader.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Boulder County | Pause | All data centers | – | Rules drafted | bouldercounty.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Brighton (city, Adams) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | cbsnews.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Cedaredge (city, Delta) | Pause | All data centers | 20 Feb 2027 | – | cedaredgecolorado.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Commerce City (city, Adams) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | westword.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Denver (city, Denver) | Pause | All data centers | 21 May 2027 | – | test.denvergov.org Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Fremont County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | fremontcountyco.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Grand County | Pause | All data centers | 24 Jun 2027 | – | skyhinews.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Lafayette (city, Boulder) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | coloradohometownweekly.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Lamar (city, Prowers) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | theprowersjournal.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Loveland (city, Larimer) | Pause | Above a size threshold: 10 MW or more of electricity, or industrial-scale cooling infrastructure | 15 Sep 2027 | – | lovgov.org Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Mesa County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | mesacounty.us Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Montrose County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | montrosecounty.net Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Monument (city, El Paso) | Pause | All data centers | 20 Jan 2027 | – | koaa.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Pagosa Springs (city, Archuleta) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | pagosasun.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Palmer Lake (city, El Paso) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | gazette.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Rio Grande County | Pause | All data centers: Countywide, one-year moratorium. A separate resolution prohibits large-scale and hyperscale data centers; the source does not state an exact moratorium end date. | – | – | alamosacitizen.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Saguache County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | alamosacitizen.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| South Fork (city, Rio Grande) | Pause | Other: Pauses new site development plans or zoning permits where a data center is the primary use; the source says it expires after one year or when new code amendments take effect, without giving an exact end date. | – | – | delnorteprospector.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Teller County | Pause | Other: Major utility projects in zoned districts; the county said it anticipated inquiries about data centers. The source does not state a data-center-specific threshold. | – | – | gazette.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Thornton (city, Adams) | Pause | Above a size threshold: Data centers larger than 50,000 square feet | – | – | denverpost.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Woodland Park (city, Teller) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | gazette.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Jefferson County | Pause, extended | All data centers | – | Rules drafted | jeffco.us Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Kiowa County | Pause, extended | All data centers | – | – | kiowacountypress.net News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Larimer County | Pause, extended | All data centers | 25 Feb 2027 | Rules drafted | nocoherald.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Proposed (5) | |||||
| Costilla County | Pause proposed | Other | – | – | alamosacitizen.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Englewood (city, Arapahoe) | Pause proposed | – | – | – | englewoodgov.civicweb.net Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Fort Collins (city, Larimer) | Pause proposed | Above a size threshold: Primary-use data centers; accessory data centers using more than 10 MW | 6 Apr 2027 | – | coloradoan.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Littleton (city, Arapahoe) | Pause proposed | – | – | Rules drafted | littletonco.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Prowers County | Pause proposed | All data centers | – | – | prowersco.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
– = not found in the sources we checked
Source: Grounded Compute, Colorado moratorium tracker, 31 Oct 2026. https://groundedcompute.com/us/colorado/moratoriums
Moratoriums in other states
- All US moratoriums
- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming