Florida data center moratoriums
As of 31 Oct 2026, we count at least 19 local data center pauses in force in Florida, 5 bans and 19 proposals, across its counties and cities. At state level: checked, nothing found.
- 19 pauses in force · 5 bans · 19 proposed
- 0 pauses end within 60 days
- Checked: 67 counties, 219 cities · 43 on tracker
Cite this page
Source: Grounded Compute, Florida moratorium tracker, 31 Oct 2026. https://groundedcompute.com/us/florida/moratoriums
Every row below has its source and the date we checked it. For reporters: contact and corrections
State level · Checked, nothing found
We asked about state laws, orders and bills: checked, nothing found (31 Oct 2026).
Expiring by 30 Dec 2026
None in the next 60 days
Moratorium map · counties
- Ban: 5 counties
- Pause (active or extended): 13 counties
- Pause proposed: 11 counties
- End date passed, no update found: 0 counties
- Ended, expired or none found: 20 counties
- No government or news source found: 18 counties
- City: ban
- City: pause
- City: pause proposed
- 67 counties checked · 31 Oct 2026
- Cities on the tracker drawn as dots (14)
- Schematic; outlines: US Census
Tracker · 43 bans, pauses and proposals
- Rows grouped under their count; each count matches the figures at the top
- 20 government confirmed · 23 news reported
- Ended pauses and no-pause checks: on the map only. We checked counties and cities; nothing found is not proof that none exists
- Method
| Jurisdiction | Status | Covers | End | Permanent rules | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bans (5) | |||||
| Jackson County | Ban | All data centers | – | Rules adopted | wjhg.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Pinellas County | Ban | – | – | Rules adopted | pinellas.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Volusia County | Ban | Above a size threshold: Large-scale data centers with an anticipated monthly peak electrical load of 50 megawatts or more | – | Rules adopted | clickorlando.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Wakulla County | Ban | – | – | Rules adopted | wctv.tv News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Walton County | Ban | All data centers | – | Rules adopted | waltonclerkfl.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Pauses in force (19) | |||||
| Alachua (city, Alachua) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | wcjb.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Bay County | Pause | Above a size threshold: Data centers requiring 5 MW or more; applies in unincorporated Bay County | 8 Jan 2027 | – | newsherald.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Citrus County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | chronicleonline.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Collier County | Pause | Above a size threshold: Hyperscale data centers; county staff identified facilities of 500,000 square feet or larger as its focus. | – | Rules drafted | naplesnews.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| DeSoto County | Pause | Other | – | – | desotobocc.legistar.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Flagler County | Pause | All data centers | 3 Aug 2027 | – | observerlocalnews.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Franklin County | Pause | Above a size threshold: Large-scale data centers and large-load customer facilities; applies in the unincorporated area of Franklin County. | – | – | franklincountyflorida.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Gilchrist County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | wcjb.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Gulf County | Pause | Other: New AI data centers; the source does not specify geographic coverage within the county. | – | – | wjhg.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Hernando County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | hernandoclerk.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Hilliard (city, Nassau) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | townofhilliard.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Leon County | Pause | Above a size threshold: Large-load customer facilities, including large-scale data centers | – | – | www2.leoncountyfl.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Nassau County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | nassaucountyfl.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| North Port (city, Sarasota) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | cityofnorthport.legistar.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Osceola County | Pause | Above a size threshold: Large-scale data centers; the county says applications will not be considered for review until the state report is submitted, and potentially beyond. | – | – | osceola.org Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Panama City (city, Bay) | Pause | Other: Large-scale data centers; the cited report does not state a megawatt threshold | 22 Sep 2027 | – | wjhg.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Venice (city, Sarasota) | Pause | Above a size threshold: Large-scale data centers with an anticipated monthly peak electrical load of 50 MW or more at a single location | – | – | venice.legistar.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Washington County | Pause | Other | – | – | washingtoncounty.news News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| West Melbourne (city, Brevard) | Pause | All data centers | – | Rules drafted | westmelbourne.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Proposed (19) | |||||
| Broward County | Pause proposed | Above a size threshold: Large-scale data centers, defined as facilities with at least 50 MW of peak electrical demand | – | Rules drafted | therealdeal.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Calhoun County | Pause proposed | Above a size threshold: Large-scale data centers; no numerical threshold stated | – | Rules drafted | wjhg.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Charlotte County | Pause proposed | – | – | Rules drafted | charlottecountyfl.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Dade City (city, Pasco) | Pause proposed | – | – | Rules drafted | hernandosun.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Dixie County | Pause proposed | Other | – | – | dixieclerk.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Duval County | Pause proposed | All data centers | – | Rules drafted | actionnewsjax.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Edgewater (city, Volusia) | Pause proposed | All data centers | – | Rules drafted | volusiaelections.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Gadsden County | Pause proposed | Other | – | – | gadsdencountytimes.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Hillsborough County | Pause proposed | Other | – | – | hcfl.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Jacksonville (city, Duval) | Pause proposed | All data centers | – | Rules drafted | firstcoastnews.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Live Oak (city, Suwannee) | Pause proposed | All data centers | – | Rules drafted | cityofliveoak.org Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Miami-Dade County | Pause proposed | Some zoning districts | – | Rules drafted | miamidade.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| New Smyrna Beach (city, Volusia) | Pause proposed | All data centers | – | – | yahoo.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Orange County | Pause proposed | Above a size threshold: New large-scale AI data-center applications; no numerical threshold stated in the source | – | Rules drafted | fox35orlando.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Panama City Beach (city, Bay) | Pause proposed | Other: Proposed land-development-code prohibition on data centers; local reporting describes a 5 MW threshold | – | Rules drafted | pcbfl.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Seminole County | Pause proposed | – | – | – | clickorlando.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| St. Cloud (city, Osceola) | Pause proposed | – | – | Rules drafted | stcloudlive.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| St. Johns County | Pause proposed | – | – | – | stjohnsclerk.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Tampa (city, Hillsborough) | Pause proposed | Other | – | – | floridapolitics.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
– = not found in the sources we checked
Source: Grounded Compute, Florida moratorium tracker, 31 Oct 2026. https://groundedcompute.com/us/florida/moratoriums
Moratoriums in other states
- All US moratoriums
- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California
- Colorado
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming