Minnesota data center moratoriums
As of 31 Oct 2026, we count at least 24 local data center pauses in force in Minnesota, no bans and 11 proposals, across its counties, cities and townships. At state level, a bill or proposal is pending.
- 24 pauses in force · 0 bans · 11 proposed
- 1 pauses end within 60 days
- Checked: 87 counties, 136 cities, 5 townships · 35 on tracker
Cite this page
Source: Grounded Compute, Minnesota moratorium tracker, 31 Oct 2026. https://groundedcompute.com/us/minnesota/moratoriums
Every row below has its source and the date we checked it. For reporters: contact and corrections
State level · Bill or proposal, not passed
All data centers
revisor.mn.govGovernment confirmedChecked 31 Oct 2026
Not counted in the local figures above.
Expiring by 30 Dec 2026
- 21 Nov 2026Minneapolis (city)Pausemcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.usGovernment confirmed
Moratorium map · counties
- Ban: 0 counties
- Pause (active or extended): 8 counties
- Pause proposed: 6 counties
- End date passed, no update found: 0 counties
- Ended, expired or none found: 66 counties
- No government or news source found: 7 counties
- Township: ban
- Township: pause
- Township: pause proposed
- City: ban
- City: pause
- City: pause proposed
- 87 counties checked · 31 Oct 2026
- Cities on the tracker drawn as dots (19)
- Townships on the tracker (2) drawn as one square at their county's centre
- Schematic; outlines: US Census
Tracker · 35 bans, pauses and proposals
- Rows grouped under their count; each count matches the figures at the top
- 20 government confirmed · 15 news reported
- Ended pauses and no-pause checks: on the map only. We checked counties, cities and townships; nothing found is not proof that none exists
- Method
| Jurisdiction | Status | Covers | End | Permanent rules | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pauses in force (24) | |||||
| Alexandria (city, Douglas) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | echopress.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Apple Valley (city, Dakota) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | documents.applevalleymn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Bemidji (city, Beltrami) | Pause | Above a size threshold: Data centers greater than 10,000 square feet; cryptocurrency-mining facilities of any size. The source describes the moratorium as lasting one year but does not state an exact end date. | – | – | kaxe.org News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Big Stone County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | bigstonecounty.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Blue Earth County | Pause | All data centers | 27 Jun 2027 | – | blueearthcountymn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Cambridge (city, Isanti) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | hometownsource.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Carlton County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | carltoncountymn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Carver (city, Carver) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | cityofcarver.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Chisago County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | chisagocountymn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Elko New Market (city, Scott) | Pause | All data centers | 13 May 2027 | – | elkonewmarketmn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Hastings (city, Dakota) | Pause | All data centers | 17 Aug 2027 | – | hastingsmn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Inver Grove Heights (city, Dakota) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | ighmn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Le Sueur County | Pause | Other | – | – | lesueurcounty.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Mankato (city, Blue Earth) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | public.destinyhosted.com Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Minneapolis (city, Hennepin) | Pause | Above a size threshold: Downtown exception for projects under 350,000 square feet | 21 Nov 2026 | Rules drafted | mcclibraryfunctions.azurewebsites.us Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| New Brighton (city, Ramsey) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | govtech.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| North Mankato (city, Blue Earth) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | keyc.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Rosemount (city, Dakota) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | rosemountmn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Silver Brook Township (Carlton County) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | kaxe.org News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| St. Joseph (city, Stearns) | Pause | All data centers | 17 Jun 2027 | – | stjosephmn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Woodbury (city, Washington) | Pause | All data centers | – | – | woodburymn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Wright County | Pause | All data centers | – | – | wrightcountymn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Freeborn County | Pause, extended | Other: Applies to the unincorporated parts of Freeborn County; the source does not state a size threshold. | 19 Aug 2027 | – | kaaltv.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Pine County | Pause, extended | All data centers | 18 Aug 2027 | – | pinecountynews.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Proposed (11) | |||||
| Becker County | Pause proposed | – | – | Rules drafted | beckercountymn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Benton County | Pause proposed | – | – | – | bentoncountymn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Bloom Township (Nobles County) | Pause proposed | Other | – | – | dglobe.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Brown County | Pause proposed | Other | – | Rules drafted | nujournal.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Crosby (city, Crow Wing) | Pause proposed | – | – | Rules drafted | kaxe.org News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Dakota County | Pause proposed | – | – | – | startribune.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Houston County | Pause proposed | – | – | – | hocomn.gov Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Nobles County | Pause proposed | Other | – | – | co.nobles.mn.us Government confirmed Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| North Branch (city, Chisago) | Pause proposed | All data centers | – | – | isanti-chisagocountystar.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Rice (city, Benton) | Pause proposed | All data centers | – | Rules drafted | wjon.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
| Stacy (city, Chisago) | Pause proposed | All data centers | – | – | chisagocountypress.com News reported Checked 31 Oct 2026 |
– = not found in the sources we checked
Source: Grounded Compute, Minnesota moratorium tracker, 31 Oct 2026. https://groundedcompute.com/us/minnesota/moratoriums
Moratoriums in other states
- All US moratoriums
- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California
- Colorado
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming